Computer Science Quantum Interest Group


We are based in the Department of Computer Science at UCL.

We work on various theoretical aspects of quantum and classical information theory, and quantum computation. The activities of the group are also part of the UCL Quantum Science & Technology Institute (UCLQ).

Our publications can be accessed via our personal web pages, UCL IRIS, or

Please feel free to email the academic staff members to discuss student projects and dissertations.

Academic staff:

  • Fernando Brandao (joint appointment with Microsoft Research), EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow, and Reader in Quantum Computing (full time at Caltech from October 2016)photo
  • Toby Cubitt, Royal Society University Research Fellowindex
  • Simone Severini, Royal Society Research Fellow and Reader in Physics of InformationIphone08122015 405

Research staff:

PhD students:

Project students:

  • Hipolito Iturraspe (2016)
  • Konstantinos Metallinos (2016)kostas
  • Ermira Zhuka (2016)ermira
  • Kyohei Koyama (2016)koehy
  • Markos Karasamanis (winner of an EPSRC Vacation Bursary 2016)markos

Honorary members:

Former members:

  • Christopher Banerji (MRes, PhD, awarded the UCL Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Postgraduate Prize for outstanding achievements during the MRes year at CoMPLEX; Recipient of the INBIOMEDvision Training Challenge Prize 2012)
  • James West (MRes, PhD)
  • Banghai Wang (postdoc; Professor at Guandong University of Technology)
  • Zhihao Ma (posdoc; Professor at Shaghai Jiao-Tong University )
  • Walter Vinci (postdoc; postdoc at USC, Daniel Lidar group)
  • Tianyu Ye (postdoc; Professor at Zhejiang Gongshang University)
  • Lourdes Sriraja (MRes)
  • Hairu Xu (Visiting Student from Guandong University of Technology)
  • Winton Brown (postdoc; then at Freie Universitat Berlin, Jens Eisert group)
  • Janos Hodsagi (MRes, then PhD at CoMPLEX)
  • Zoltan Zimboras (postdoc; then at Freie Universitat Berlin, Jens Eisert group)
  • Soomin Kim, Emma Rahman, Abdul Bhutto, Zahra Najib (Nuffield Research Placement Scheme)
  • Bobby Bentham, Thomas Wyatt, Tim Lucas, Sophie Atkinson (MRes projects, then PhD at CoMPLEX)
  • Arthur Guerard (MRes, Physics & Astronomy)
  • Yu-Ching Yang (MRes, Machine Learning, together with Marco Grimaldi at HarperCollins).